HOME Media Kit Advertising Contact Us About Us


Web The Truth

Community Calendar

Dear Ryan


Online Issues

Send a Letter to the Editor



District Council Members Sworn in as New Session Starts

Sojournerís Truth Staff

Toledo City Council Members representing the six Council districts were sworn in on January 2 as this yearís council session began. The newcomers included two new district members and one elected by council to complete the unexpired term of a resigning member.

The six district council members were elected or re-elected in this past Novemberís general election.

Incumbents District 4 Councilwoman Yvonne Harper, District 1 Councilman Tyrone Riley, District 3 Councilman Matt Cherry and District 6 Councilman Chris Delaney were sworn in along with newcomers Sam Melden of District 5 and Theresa Gadus of District 3.

Councilman Cherry was again elected president of council in an unanimous vote.

Katie Bibish Moline was appointed to city council to replace at-large Councilwoman Sandy Spang who resigned to join the Mayor Wade Kapszukiewicz administration as commission of business services. Molineís appointment came before the previously scheduled Lucas County Democratic Party application deadline of January 8. The council vote had not been expected until mid to late January Ė by which time the Democratic Party would have screened and recommended their preference to the remaining council members.

Harper and Riley are both starting their final terms as district council members.



Copyright © 2019 by [The Sojourner's Truth]. All rights reserved.
Revised: 01/09/20 10:29:41 -0500.

More Articles....



Back to Home Page