HOME Media Kit Advertising Contact Us About Us


Web The Truth

Community Calendar

Dear Ryan


Online Issues

Send a Letter to the Editor



Local AKA Chapters Celebrate Founders’ Day in Style

By Tricia Hall
Sojourner’s Truth Reporter

The local chapters of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated organized a collaborative Founder’s Day 2019 celebration. The sisterhood was established in 1908, and marked as the first and oldest Greek-letter sorority that openly welcomed African-American women.

The Zeta Alpha Omega, Alpha Lambda, and Iota Iota chapters filled the Heatherdowns Country Club in Toledo with sorority colors salmon pink and apple green that were surrounded by pearl decorations and attendee attire.

This year’s Founders Day theme was "Exemplifying Excellence Through Sisterhood and Service." The keynote address was presented by Eva L. Evans, Ed.D, the 24th National President of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

The February 2, 2019 program opened with the procession of dais sorority guests while past chapter president Clara Petty served as mistress of ceremonies. Official greetings were then delivered by Marisa DuPree, president of Alpha Lambda Chapter; Morgannia Dawson, president of Zeta Alpha Omega chapter and Lisa Dubose, NOWP Cluster Coordinator.

“I’m honored to stand here, surrounded by these lovely women and celebrate our service to mankind. We have promoted and sponsored programs in Toledo that are based on our target programs,” said Dawson.

Chapter President Morgannia Dawson, Guest speaker Eva Evans, Founders Day Committee Chairman Richelle Watkins


Christian-based praise dance team Total Praise of St. Paul Missionary Baptist Church delivered a powerful dance that was immediately followed by a spirit-filled invocation presented by Margaret Huntley. The celebration featured Eva Evans, The 24th Supreme Basileus, as keynote speaker, who was properly introduced by Ann Battles, the 20th Great Lakes Regional Director, and special recognition of past chapter presidents, Silver Stars, and Golden Sorors.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated was founded January 15, 1908 at Howard University located in Washington, DC and incorporated on January 29, 1913. Locally, Zeta Alpha Omega Chapter was chartered on April 25, 1952 in Toledo.

“I personally want to thank the committee. I’m proud to serve with these sorors. We’re here to celebrate and stand on the legacy of our founders and those sorors who came before us,” explained Committee Chair Richelle Watkins.

Today Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc ® has grown to include over 300,000.00 members and has become international. Some of the places are located in the District of Columbia, South Africa, Canada, South Korea, the Middle East, Japan, Liberia, Germany, US Bahamas and the Virgin Islands.  


As Alpha Kappa Alpha continues to give "Service to Mankind”, the keynote speaker Evans reminded her audience that they should remember the struggles that their forefathers fought for and know their struggles still need to be taken seriously today. The sorority still has work to do. They should know the laws, know their rights, and learn about finances to help themselves and theirr children. All people are created equal, she emphasized. She pointed to the importance of continuing to utilize programs like the arts, health, science, technology and mathematics. The members should be uplifting as they climb. 


The sorority’s national programs promote: HBCU for Life, Women's Healthcare and Wellness, Building your Economic Legacy, the Arts, Global Impact and (CAP) College Admissions Process. 

Zeta Alpha Omega officers: Morgannia Dawson, president; Nicole Williams, vice president; Pam Green-Jones, recording secretary; Katrina Barry, assistant secretary; Treva Jeffries, corresponding secretary; Jacalyn Brown, treasurer; Paula Martin, financial secretary; Denise Black-Poon, Ivy Leaf reporter; Cheryl Wallace, Alpha Lambda advisor; Desiree McGee, Iota Iota advisor; Felicia Dunston, parliamentarian; Elinor Allen, historian; Mary Dawson, Sergeant at Arms; Frances Collins, PhD, member at large; Pamela Wilson, hostess; Marge Huntley, chaplain; and Julia Holt, attendance registrar.

Founders’ Day Committee: Chairman Richelle Watkins; Co-chairman Clara Petty; and members Lisa Dubose, Felicia Dunston, Mary Dawson, Morgannia Dawson, Nicole Williams, Lenora Barry, Malinda Prowell, Connie Okoye-Nantwi, Carolyn Lewis, Pamela Green-Jones, and Fionne Roberts-Wright.



Copyright © 2019 by [The Sojourner's Truth]. All rights reserved.
Revised: 02/08/19 00:11:18 -0500.

More Articles....

Behind The Warrior’s Mask

Lourdes University Presents Black History Month Celebration 'The Stars Within Us: Black Excellence and the Arts'


Mother Georgia’s Red Room Is Open For Business

Honor Rosa Parks with an Appeal for More, Better and Just Public Transit on Transit Equity Day, Feb 4

Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother’s Will to Survive by Stephanie Land



Back to Home Page