HOME Media Kit Advertising Contact Us About Us


Web The Truth

Community Calendar

Dear Ryan


Online Issues

Send a Letter to the Editor



20 Under 40” Leadership Recognition Award

Twenty young adults, including five African Americans, received a 2017 20 Under 40 Leadership Recognition Award on Thursday, September 28 at the 22nd annual 20 Under 40 ceremony.  They were selected from a field of 120 candidates.

Lamar Anderson, Director of Product Marketing at Owens Corning,

A young achiever, Anderson became a Director at a Fortune 500 company by the age of 33. Currently, he leads a business segment at Owens Corning with $250 million in sales and 300 employees across the U.S., Canada and Mexico.

In the community, Anderson serves as a board member for Junior Achievement of Northwestern Ohio, as an Elder and board member for the Church on Strayer, a HUB Team member for Pickett Elementary School, on the scholarship committee for Alpha Phi Alpha alumni chapter of Toledo, and was a past chairman of Owens Corning’s African-American Resource Group.

Anderson was a recipient of an Evans Scholarship, has an undergraduate degree from

Northwestern University, He returned to Northwestern to obtain his MBA from Kellogg School of Management while working full-time as a plant leader at Owens Corning.

He was nominated by Kristian Brown, Jose Rosales, Craig Teamer, and Tianna Anderson.


Jeremy Holloway, Teacher/Speaker at the University of Toledo

Holloway serves as the Community Relations Director for the UT Student Government, president of Narrow Gate Community at UT, and a leader in the PhD program there.  He serves his community as an advisor, mentor, and leader for the Multicultural Educators of the Future, Brothers on the Rise, serves as an instructor with the Multicultural Emerging Scholars Program and is a recognized minister of music in various local churches. He has taught in South Korea, Mexico, Argentina and Spain.  Holloway was also a team leader in Toledo for community building projects in Managua, Nicaragua; Wonju, South Korea and Laung Prabnang, Laos.

He is a recipient of the UT Martin Luther King, Jr. Award. He is also a mentor at Keiser Elementary through JLJ Mentor’s Outreach, and he ran in the Glass City Marathon and in an international marathon in Seoul, South Korea.

Holloway was nominated by Edward McNeal.


Richard Jackson, Commissioner of Purchasing for the City of Toledo

As Commissioner of Purchasing, Jackson leads the City’s purchasing team in procuring goods and services of over $250 million a year. He holds a BS in Finance from The Ohio State University and earned his EMBA from the University of Toledo.

Jackson serves on Toledo EXCEL Joint committee at the University of Toledo, serves on the Pickett School HUB Steering Team and serves on the board  of Alpha Xi Lambda Chapter as Treasurer.  He received the Toledo EXCEL Outstanding alumni Award in 2016; the GFOA Certificate for Excellence in Financial Reporting in 2014 and 2015. 

Jackson was nominated by LaMar Anderson and Ebonie Jackson.


Erica Parish, Director of TRIO Student Support Services at Owens Community College

Parish had an 11-plus year career with UPS, beginning during college at the University of Michigan. She was featured as a woman in leadership in this industry that has few females in highly visible management positions. After earning her MBA from BGSU, she entered the education field and joined Owens Community College where she directs the federally-funded program to help students attain an associate’s degree, certificate and/or transfer to a four-year university.

She has been part of the Perrysburg Amateur Baseball and Softball Commission for 10 years as a coach, league commissioner, vice-president, and currently serves as board president. She is also is one of the three commissioners for the Perrysburg Women’s Softball League. A member of the board of trustees for the United Way of Greater Toledo, she is chairman of the Community Impact Cabinet, serves on the governance committee and the CEO search committee.  She is a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. where she serves as the community service chairman and collegiate advisor. In 2016 she was selected to participate in a two-year Leadership Excellence Academy and became a certified manager in Program Improvement. She also completed a Midwest Region Leadership Fellows program with Delta Sigma Theta, Inc.

Parish was nominated by Tyran Boyd.

Kendra Smith, Executive Director of Preferred Properties, Inc.

Smith has extensive experience in real estate development, urban planning, housing policy, and community organizing having served as the Senior Housing Planner for the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning prior to coming to Toledo in 2016.

Since moving to Toledo, she has volunteered time and resources to the reinvestment of Toledo’s neighborhoods and residents.  She serves on the boards of MLK Kitchen for the Poor, UpTown Association and Toledo Design Center.  She is a member of Toledo Rotary, serving on the Rotary Disability Committee and will co-chair the Youth Services Committee in 2018.  She was a participant in the 2017 Center for Nonprofit Resources Executive Leadership Certificate Program, the 2016 EPIC Toledo Board Accelerator Series and presented at “Partnerships

Analysis to Impediments and Fair Housing Assessments,” a HUD Region V Convening in 2015. She has presented at four regional and national conferences in 2014 and has published articles.

Smith holds degrees from Cleveland State University, Ohio University, La Universidad Publica de Navarra in Pamplona, Spain, and Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.

She was nominated by Candice Harrison.

The 20 Under 40 program focuses on individuals in northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan under the age of 40 who have distinguished themselves in their careers and/or in the community. An independent panel of judges selects the 20 candidates for recognition.  It is intended that the program will further motivate young leaders in our area. Since 1996, 440 young community leaders have been recognized through the 20 Under 40 program.

Program sponsors include Eastman & Smith; Fifth Third Bank; Plante Moran; The Andersons, Inc.; University of Toledo Alumni Association and Sauder Woodworking Co.  The Toledo Business Journal serves as the media partner, Leadership Toledo serves as the community partner and The Creative Block is the website partner.  Community support is provided by EPIC Toledo, Oregon Theatre, Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo Opera, Toledo Symphony, Toledo Zoo, Valentine Theatre and Ulrich Pinciotti.



Copyright © 2017 by [The Sojourner's Truth]. All rights reserved.
Revised: 10/12/17 20:56:14 -0700.

More Articles....

We Must Reform Charter School Reform in Ohio!

The People and the Powers That Be

Jack and Jill and the Toledo Mud Hens Celebrate Moses Fleetwood Walker Day at Fleetwoods

Kaptur: Protect Ohioans Health Care  

Kid Authors by David Stabler, illustrated by Doogie Horner


Back to Home Page




Copyright © The Sojourner's Truth. All Rights Reserved.